Category Archives: Number of Raqa/Cycles

Number of Raqa/Cycles

Traditional Muslims conduct their Salat in units which they call ‘raka’. One raka is a cycle of standing, bowing and prostrating. They also follow a strict format for the Salat which is 2-4-4-3-4. This means that the first of their Salat (Fajr) has 2 raka, the second of their Salat (Zhohr) has 4 raka and so on. We don’t find this format, nor any other format, in the Quran. In addition, the word raka itself is not found in the Quran.

Continue reading Number of Raqa/Cycles